我思,IB课程
You are here: Home \ 未分类 \ 我思,IB课程

Archives

15 十二月 2017 - 11:54, by , in 未分类, Comments off
上海新加坡外籍人员子女学校(SSIS)为11及12年级学生开设IBDP课程。为确保10年级学生能顺利从IGCSE(国际普通中等教育证书)课程过渡到IBDP课程,SSIS会提前向学生们详细解说我校IBDP的课程设置。究竟学生们对此课程的感受如何?他们有什么困惑和不解?为了解答这些问题,SSIS中学部在11月特别为10年级学生举办了一场IB讲座,同时邀请了谢姿颖(Victoria)同学来聊一聊她的直观感受。

我们走进会议室,不知道该期待些什么。如果你问我们:“长大后想做什么?”,你会听到各种各样的回答。有些人可能会露出自信的微笑,非常坚定地给出答案。有些人可能会陷入沉思,随后列出各种选项。而其余的人可能会迷茫的看着你,犹豫的耸耸肩。其实在那时我们都一样——IBDP课程对于我们是模糊而朦胧的。
当IBDP负责人Gurkan先生开始演讲的时候,房间里只有他的声音,学生们都正襟危坐。他的每句话似乎都让我们起了阵阵鸡皮疙瘩。当他切换到列举了每一门IBDP课程的幻灯片时,大家开始窃窃私语起来。当时我的朋友紧紧地握住了我的手。就好像我们每个人都投了一大笔钱去买彩票,而Gurkan先生正在宣布彩票中奖号码。
有关课程简介的小册子分发出去了,升学指导负责人Donagher先生也站了起来。小册子上的全部内容似乎都是用一种只有他能懂的古老语言写成的。然而,当他演讲结束时,我们能读懂更多这本小册子上的含义了。
 
走出房间,我有一种雾散了的感觉。对我们大多数人来说,未来还不是非常清晰,但不知怎的,它似乎不那么可怕,并且更令人兴奋了。我们意识到,这件事并不能逃避,相反你可以用双手去牢牢抓住它,控制它。

 

 

Shanghai Singapore International School

Shanghai Singapore International School

Scroll Up

A Student’s Reflection on the SSIS IB Presentation
You are here: Home \ English \ A Student’s Reflection on the SSIS IB Presentation

Archives

15 December 2017 - 11:54, by , in English, Uncategorised, Comments off
In SSIS, we offer IBDP courses for G11-12 students. An important feature of transition from IGCSE to IBDP is for our IBDP Coordinator to present our full course offerings to our current Grade 10 students. How do these students feel about the Programme? Do they have any questions about the courses? To figure out these issues, the senior school division held an IB presentation in November and also invited a G10 student, CHEAH Zi Ying Victoria to share with us her reflections.

We filed into the conference room not fully knowing what to expect. Asking each and every one of us “what do you want to be when you grow up?” would gather a variety of responses. A few might break into a confident smile and answer with all the certainty one is capable of mustering. A handful might frown in thought before listing out different options. And the rest of us might dredge up a blank look and a hesitant shrug. Yet at that point in time we were all in the same boat – our perceptions of the IBDP program were hazy and vague.
As Mr Gurkan, our IBDP Coordinator, launched into his talk, the room was filled with only the sound of his voice and students shifting to sit on the very edges of their seats. Each sentence he spoke seemed to send a new jolt of both excitement and fear coursing into our veins. As he switched to the slide with every IBDP course listed, whispers and murmurs began to build. I felt my friend squeezing my hand tightly in hers. It was as if Mr Gurkan was reading out the winning numbers of the lottery and each of us had invested a fortune into tickets.
Booklets were handed out and Mr Donagher, HOD of Senior Counselor, stepped up. Everything written in the booklet seemed to be written in an ancient language that only he could transcribe. By the end of his talk, however, the booklet made a lot more sense.
Walking out of the room felt like a fog had been lifted. The future still wasn’t crystal clear to most of us, but somehow it seemed a little less scary and a lot more exciting. We realized then that it wasn’t something to shrink away and hide from, but rather something to grab with both hands and take control of.

 

Shanghai Singapore International School

Shanghai Singapore International School

Scroll Up